Monkey pox: 8 African countries affected

After COVID-19, monkey pox is gradually creeping into different countries.
Monkeypox is an infectious disease caused by a virus transmitted by infected animals.

Even if the appearance of this disease is rare, it is already present in regions of central and western Africa, near the humid tropical forests, but this time the whole world is concerned. In the lot, eight African countries have already recorded conforming cases of Monkeypox.

During an online briefing carried out this Thursday, June 16, 2022, Matshidiso Moeti the regional director of the World Health Organization (WHO) for Africa provided some details.

Indeed, she said that eight countries were affected while others recorded suspected cases. These eight countries are: Morocco, Ghana, Nigeria, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), the Central African Republic, Benin, Cameroon and Congo.

Your health destination, Anadolu Medical Center

Other countries such as Ethiopia, Guinea, Liberia, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Sudan and Uganda have recorded suspected cases of dreampox while these countries have no history.

Monkeypox: what are the global figures?

Monkeypox cases are on the rise even though the risk of a global epidemic is still minimal. The official also indicated during this briefing that around 1,900 cases have been confirmed in 39 countries around the world.

Federal officials in the United States have claimed that this outbreak is caused by individuals traveling overseas.

Is vaccination against Moneypox necessary?

The regional director of the World Health Organization said the body does not advise mass vaccination at this stage.

Nevertheless, the African continent must remain “ready if the need arises”.

It is within this framework that the European Union has just signed a contract for the purchase of more than 100,000 doses of vaccine against monkeypox.

Leave a Comment